“If I’m doing it, it must be sacred.”

When Sue Kearney agreed to guest blog for me I was elated! I love her blog so much and I was so excited when her article hit my inbox.

And what a timely subject! I’ve found it really hard to write lately because I’ve been working on the wiring myself, working on that breakthrough… but I don’t want to spoil Sue’s post. Enjoy, and I hope you’re as inspired as I have been.

Love and light,
Vanessa

“If I’m doing it, it must be sacred.”

Gulp. Yes it’s a big statement. And it took (and continues to take) a lot of gumption and extraordinary self-love for me to wrap my head and heart around it.

On my long and bumpy journey to becoming the woman I would like to be, was meant to be, I have been stopped in my progress many times by self-judgment (just one of the snarling committee that lives in my head). Here are some of those unlovely thoughts I hear (and like they told me in Brooklyn, “When you’re alone with your own mind, you’re in a bad f****in’ neighborhood”):

  • Taking time out of work to take care of my health means I’m weak, I’ll never succeed, it’s too late.
  • It shouldn’t take this long, or be this difficult, to write my website sales pages.
  • What makes me think I can succeed, be heard and well received by my perfect tribe of women I know I am here to serve? I’m too old and my voice is too small.

To sum it up, an endless stream of variations on the theme of “I’m a Loser.”

Luckily, I have beautiful people in my life, willing and able to see—and reflect to me—the bigger, more loving, picture even when I can’t see it, when I don’t have a glimmer of the possibility. Here’s the powerful message I was offered by one of those loving mentors that gets put in our paths:

“If I’m doing it, it must be sacred.”

Progress has been made. I’ve gotten really good at bringin’ the sacred to a specific action or activity. I can focus my most loving and powerful intentions to be mindful and present for the next coaching session with a client, or the next yoga practice, my daily meditation practice. And I do these things pretty well.

But then, the coaching call ends, or the meditation ends, or I get up off the mat at the end of yoga class, and I somehow melt back into my default way of being. You see, it seems to be easier to bring my open loving heart to a defined practice, a defined block of time, than it is to bring it to my business development, or my health challenges.

An invitation to a breakthrough.

What if I applied the same sacred intention, regal commitment and loving surrender that I bring to my client calls, my yoga class, or to my meditation practice to every part of my life? What if I created an entirely different ease-ful structure for my life, one that included the challenges and hard stuff? Like writing sales pages for my website. Like beginning the decluttering process that I so desperately want to do. Like being consistent in my spiritual practice. What could possibly get in the way of that?

Well, not much, just everything. All those hardwired thoughts and reactions that, in my experience, never really go away. The only solution that works, for me, is to circumvent the old way of thinking, to replace it with different thoughts, words and actions that help me create new wiring in my head.

Singing is one way I can create a new way of thinking. Like singing a song that connects me to my heart, to spirit, to Goddess.

We all come from the Goddess,
and to Her we shall return,
like a drop of rain,
flowing to the ocean

or

Earth my body
Water my blood
Air my breath and
Fire my spirit

A few minutes singing these flips a switch inside me that allows me to bring the sacred into this moment, whether I’m sorting laundry, answering emails, writing a blog, taking a shower, or taking a walk.

“If I’m doing it, it must be sacred.”

So gorgeous, what do you do to bring the sacred to this moment? And the next? In your business, in your life, in the whole of your beautiful being. I’d love to hear from you in the comments.

Photo credits: The crafting hands and the water hands.
________________
Sue Kearney is Chief Inspiration Officer at Magnolias West, a coaching, branding and web design practice. She is a dancer, DJ, artist, gardener, cook, and a maker of kombucha, sauerkraut and herbal medicines. Sue is a student of astrology, tarot, and a practitioner and facilitator of women’s spirituality.

Sue coaches women in business who want to express their own heart’s mission and soul’s purpose in every area of their business. She offers a Self-Love Coaching program designed to help bring back the magic in all areas of life, as well as a Brand Refresher Review, where women in business can fully and beautifully unmask the brand that reflects the heart and soul of their business. Contact Sue at Magnolias West. You can also read her blog, and follow her on Twitter, Facebook and Pinterest.

This entry was posted in inspiration, sacred, thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to “If I’m doing it, it must be sacred.”

  1. Vanessa, I’m honored to share from my heart to yours.

    Love!
    Sue

  2. Nicole says:

    Fantastic guest post! Just loved every minute of it, and really connected with the Goddess Chants.. Thank you so so much 🙂 Shine Goddess Shine

  3. Petrea says:

    What a lovely mantra to remember “if I am doing it it must be sacred”. Yes!

  4. Christiane says:

    Thank you for this inspiring, uplifting and encouraging article. I really needed this right now 🙂

  5. Sue, a resounding “yes!” to what you’ve offered here. I think we all need to be reminded of this; that we’re not sacred just when we’re meditating or praying or making an offering to our spiritual community. We aren’t sacred when we’re doing yoga but not when we’re eating a cookie or sitting on the toilet to pee — it all comes from the same Creator (however one experiences or envisions the energy behind all existence). Reading this led me to a big “ahhhhh…” And good chants always help, thanks for sharing those!

  6. Fantastic post! Totally hit the spot for me. Magick!
    Bless you

  7. Jo Macdonald says:

    great post, really loved hearing your voice and wise words xx

  8. Donna says:

    Ooh, how delicious… “If I’m doing this, it must be sacred…” What a beautiful mantra! x

Leave a Reply

