Climb Every Mountain

April was supposed to be my month for getting outside. It poured with rain nearly every day. Surrey is officially in drought, yet we received 166% of our average monthly rainfall this month. Today is a glorious day however, with warm sunshine, blue skies and fluffy white clouds. I really love spring in this country. Daffodils and tulips, new leavBird Feederes and blossoms on the trees, green everywhere. We’ve got a bird feeder suspended from one of the trees that overhang my back yard. Suspended because, for reasons that escape me, my man threw a piece of wood with string tied on it into the tree and funnily enough it got stuck. I think he had grand plans to do something long-forgotten, but for now I find the dangling feeder quite humorous. At least the squirrels can’t get to it and we do have a lot of birds coming in now, including robins, blackbirds, pigeons, blue tits, sparrows and starlings. The feeder spins madly whenever a bird lands on it, but they don’t seem to be bothered by its crazy spin. We even have a resident fox so urbanised it comes out in daylight hours.

This month was supposed to be the month I went to the swimming pool daily to train for my 5km swim for Marie Curie Cancer Care. I am proud to say I did it on the 28th of April in a time of 2 hours, 29 minutes and 45 seconds. The training didn’t go to plan at all, as I seemed to suffer more than my fair share of migraines this month. I only did about 6 hours in the pool plus a bit of weight training and walking in the gym so I didn’t complete the swim in the time I’d hoped for, 1.5 hours, which I now know was a bit unrealistic. The time aside I am very pleased to have been able to complete the distance. It didn’t seem like a long way when I put my name down for it, but it really is a very long way to swim.

I discovered something about myself from that swim. I realised that if I decide to do something, if I believe it, I can achieve it. That’s a hard thing to admit, because it’s one of my man’s more irritating mantras and it drives me up the wall, across the ceiling and down the other side. We have had countless arguments over the concept because I can’t just believe something without any evidence, experience or proof. I believed I could do the swim because I’ve swum 50 or 60 or even 100 lengths before so 200 lengths didn’t seem completely out of reach for me. Challenging, yes, but I believed it was possible because I’d done something similar before. I’d climbed a smaller mountain.

I can’t believe I’m going to build a successful business and be financially independent because I’ve never built a business. I don’t know anyone who has, except my man and he went bankrupt twice. Some might say that’s great, because he knows what not to do, but personally I’d prefer he knew what TO do, if you understand my meaning. In order to believe I can be financially independent I need to climb smaller mountains. A lot of smaller mountains.

The swim of my life was the first of those mountains, and the goals I’ve set for myself this year are the next mountains to climb.

By the way, did I tell you I’ve achieved my Toastmasters Advanced Leader Bronze and Advanced Communicator Bronze already this year? And I’ve got a speaking gig, expenses only paid but it’s a start. I’m making more effort to appreciate what I have, so I guess being financially independent is simply a matter of time…

PS: This is my latest bit of decoration in my house. It encourages me not to take things quite so seriously…

What If...?

This entry was posted in achievement, inspiration, self-confidence, Swimathon, thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Climb Every Mountain

  1. Anne says:

    Oh I soooo love your little decoration!! Words to live by!!!!

    • Vanessa King says:

      A little favourite of mine. I also have another one in the kitchen that says I kiss better than I cook, which I think is great because I’m a pretty good cook *lol* Thanks for taking the time to comment, Anne!

Leave a Reply

