Goals for 2012

First, a confession.

I’m afraid.

I’m cripplingly afraid to dream. I don’t like to write down my goals, although a lot of people I know and respect do, because I’m afraid I’ll find them at the end of the year or whatever time period it might be and find that they haven’t come true. I have been disappointed too many times to mention and I confess I now avoid putting myself in situations where I might be disappointed again.

How scaredy-cat is that thinking?

I make jokes about a man being outnumbered in a room with one woman because of her multiple personalities, but it’s no joke in my case. I have one scaredy-cat personality that doesn’t want to take any risks, just do what’s safe and predictable and pays the bills.  This womanis fed up with crying and disappointment and never getting what she wants, so her solution is not to want much.

I have another personality who wants to be allowed to dream big, think big, be big. This year (well, today at least) I’m letting that woman out and I’m going to make some goals public.

Okay, in no particular order:

I will have paid public speaking engagements.

I will acheive my Advanced Communicator Bronze and Advanced Leader Bronze awards in Toastmasters.

I will set up an advanced speakers club in the Guildford area.

I will develop my leadership skills.

Guildford Harmony will achieve an improved placing at the national competition in October.

I will lose 20kgs.

I will have 6 Smart Talkers groups running in Woking and a plan in place for expanding to Guildford and further afield in 2013.

I will visit my friend Josepha in Munich.

I will go to Australia in November.

I will feel in control of my finances.

I will appreciate more and be grateful for it all.

The funny thing about this is that most people reading this will probably think these goals aren’t particularly huge. That’s okay. It’s massive for me to put it out there at all. I suppose I should have a way of measuring these goals and a timeline for achieving them. Well, the deadline is December 31st 2012 and the measurement will be simple. I will have done the things I’ve listed. I have no idea how I’m going to do any of these things, but I hope by putting it down I have opened myself to the possibility of it all happening.

If nothing else, I’ve created a load of blog topics 🙂

A question for my audience member: when you set yourself a goal, do you imagine yourself at the end of the time period (31st December 2o12 in my case) having achieved your goal? I don’t do that but I would like to hear about your experiences.

This entry was posted in achievement, inspiration, self-confidence, thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Goals for 2012

  1. Nicky Kriel says:

    Well done for actually writing them rather than having them floating around in your head. You may find it useful to come back to this post during the year to remind yourself of what you have set out to achieve. Hope 2012 brings everything you want it to.

    • Vanessa King says:

      Thanks Nicky. I feel like I learned a lot last year, but there’s such a lot holding me back. Someone said if you do things the way you’ve always done them you’ll get what you’ve always got (or something like that anyway) and I want to do things differently now.

  2. Monica says:

    Hi Vanessa, One of the things you are able to do is reach out to people and express how you ‘truly’ feel. Not all blog posts are true from the heart. You should write more, achieve your dreams and make it happen. It only ever takes a small shift in mindset to suddenly be in the position that you want to be. Seth Godin recently made a post about making the decision to ‘commit’. You’ve done this by putting your goals out there. Be the 1% of people in this world that dream big and make it happen. Dont fall into the 99% that adhere to the acceptance mindset. All journeys of this nature are built on a certain level of uncertainty, all top people feel ‘scared’, it takes someone truly special to admit it and put it out there. Keeping it real is the best way and for that I think you’re doing a marvellous job. Keep the goals going, reach out to the inner you, grow and learn everyday and keep the mindset positively brimming with great reading, exercise, action everday to
    wards your goals and be as stubborn as you can to all the negativity that the world loves to revel in. Excellent job – keep the awesomeness up! M x

  3. Well done Vanessa – a really BIG courageous step to write them down – now they become a dream WITH A DATE if you write down when you want each one to be achieved by. Next write WHY you want to do these things – then write down just ONE small step you can do THIS WEEK towards achieving them …. one step at a very small time. The secret is taking ACTION daily, weekly, monthly and then yearly and VISUALISING what you will see, hear and feel like when you have achieved all these AMAZING things !

    Much love

    Sue 🙂

    • Vanessa King says:

      Thanks so much, Sue. Some of my goals are more straightforward than others, but I will put a date to some of them. Actions are tricky, because some things get you towards your goal when you weren’t expecting them to, equally you can take a step and end up somewhere totally unexpected. I have to be careful not to see that as a setback but an opportunity to learn something. I have a pin board at home and I will set up some of my goals with dates and reasons. I will try to visualise, that part is difficult for me. Thanks so much for taking the time to comment and to give me some tips, I value you very much!

  4. Kas Sommers says:

    S.M.A.R.T. goals: Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Realistic, Timely. Writing them down us the first step. making an action plan is the second. e.g. For the trip to Australia you need to plan that now. How much will it cost? When will you make the final payment on the tickets? then you have a savings goal for each month till that date. You will do it. xx

    • Vanessa King says:

      Thanks, Kas. At the moment, the Australia trip is a complete dream, I’ve no where near enough money to pay for it and no idea whether I’m going to earn enough to get there, so making a savings plan is a bit tricky. Doug and I were just arguing about it this morning *lol*

  5. Pingback: Climb Every Mountain | Mother, Speaker, Singer, Toastmaster

Leave a Reply

