LOA is…

I have a confession to make.

I don’t understand why people believe in the law of attraction. I’ve seen The Secret, I’ve heard people speak about their experiences with it, I’ve read the first few chapters of Think and Grow Rich (that was all I could manage before wanting to throw my computer out the window…) My partner believes in it. He says me not believing it is as silly as people who don’t believe the earth is round. We have many spirited discussions about it and he’s yet to convince me it’s anything other than… well, I like to keep this a clean blog *lol*

Here’s an example just this week.

I’ve had a brilliant time preparing for the fundraiser I did on Thursday night. I’ve been feeling great about the new business, I’m going to have a meeting about it on Tuesday and I’m really looking forward to it. I’ve been writing articles for other blogs, I’m being interviewed for a blog tomorrow as a matter of fact. I’ve been on local radio talking about the fundraiser and other things I’m doing. It’s all been great and I’ve been feeling positive about the future. I haven’t taken my anti-depressants for about a week and I was feeling very balanced and started to feel like I’d put that part of my life behind me.

My partner said to me that he knows I don’t believe in this sort of thing, but I’m really in the zone and attracting all sorts of good things right now. I’ll continue to attract everything I want. In fact (and this is his favourite phrase, makes me want to punch him in the face *lol*), I already have everything I want right now. Whenever he says this I always say ‘yes, dear,’ and get on with things. If I’m in a bad frame of mind I generally end up arguing with him, because I clearly don’t have everything I want right now. If I did, I’d be in my big house with a verandah overlooking the sea. The kids would have their own rooms and I wouldn’t be in this tiny house freezing my backside off.

Anyway, Thursday was great, until I got a form to fill in applying for housing benefit. This really sent me into a tailspin because I thought I’d already filled out the form and now they want me to do it again. They want me to provide all sorts of information, such as the kids’ birth certificates. Now, if LOA was real, I wouldn’t have to fill out the form at all, because I’ve already done it. But even if I still had to do the form, I’d be able to cope with it. All the documentation I need would be where it’s supposed to be and I could get it done in 15 minutes. But no.

If LOA was real, I’d have the perfect place to do my interview tomorrow, but I don’t.

If LOA was real, my daughter wouldn’t have been hit by a car today. It’s okay, she’s fine, just shocked, but seriously.

If LOA was real, these things might still happen but I’d be able to cope with it all instead of feeling incredibly down about it all. I’ve read some of the little quotes posted by LOA lovers and to me they just seem like pithy little one-liners. I was feeling happy and positive about the future then shit happens and that’s what life is. Life is just good stuff with disappointment waiting around the corner.

All my experience suggests LOA is a load of nonsense. Will someone please explain it to me without making me feel like I’m ignorant for not believing it.

This entry was posted in thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to LOA is…

  1. I have been told at various times by various people that – if I reach out for something I push it away instead of bringing it to me. I’ve been told that my ship isn’t coming into dock, so I’ll have to swim from shore out to where the boat is anchored.

    I have had the benefit of things coming to me when I NEED them. But let’s just say that it covers the urgent need and it isn’t a steady diet which I would dearly love.

    I think that the Stones were right:

    You can’t always get what you want
    You can’t always get what you want
    You can’t always get what you want
    But if you try sometimes you might find
    You get what you need.

    If only we always wanted that which we need.
    The two are so different. Damn it. 😀

  2. Marcie says:

    I believe in the law of attraction which is really faith. If you believe you can have what you want, create a plan, develop goals, and work the plan by faith, you will eventually get those things.

    However, I do think that the law of attraction helps you to dream big. For example, I want a property in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin. Lake Geneva is very upscale and expensive. I know in my heart of hearts that I will have my property because I am working hard to be able to afford it. And because my request has been put into the Universe, I am confident that She will respond by sending me the resources and people needed to make this possible at the appointed time in my life.

    I read a book, “Ask and It is Given,” years ago and that is the foundation of LOA. It tells you that your vibrations must be in line with the Universe. So, there is more to LOA than what you are reading.

    • Vanessa King says:

      I feel so glad you read my blog, Marcie. Writing it has been something of a journey for me and while these days I try to create posts for my audience (whoever she might be..) sometimes my posts can be pretty self-centred. LOA is one of those things that I feel like I’m just on the edge of understanding and it frustrates the hell out of me. There are very few things that really make me viscerally frustrated, but LOA discussions are one of them. I wonder why it is that way. I feel deeply sad and frustrated that every time I allow myself to feel positive and hopeful something comes along to scupper it and I spin into a depression that I try very hard to control. Tonight I could almost feel it writhing inside me like a snake. I got a visit from a very nice policewoman this evening. After Naomi was hit by the car (I wasn’t home at the time, but I believe the car was moving very slowly and Naomi probably ran out and hit it rather than the other way around), someone phoned the police because they thought my daughter wasn’t being taken care of properly. Surely the universe knows what I go through to make sure my children are cared for, why does stuff like that get thrown at me?? Now I have to try and turn my mood around so that I can be most effective tomorrow. I’ve got a promotional interview for a wedding web site that I’ve been looking forward to for ages..

Leave a Reply

