Easy, Do-able, Impossible

Why, sometimes I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast

I’d thought this was a Douglas Adams quote until I Googled it and found a whole discussion on it from 1999 (yes, they had computers back then). I’m relieved to know I’m not the only person who didn’t realise it was a Lewis Carroll reference, pleased I didn’t post the question on a forum (there was some comment about asking stupid questions…) and really grateful to Google for saving me from making myself look dumb. I bet Google has done that for quite a few people, come to think of it…

I’m a little embarassed I didn’t recognise the refernce, since I’ve read Alice’s Adventures Through the Looking Glass on more than one occasion. My dad gave me a leather-bound copy of the book for my birthday one year. I was too old for the story, but not too old to appreciate the book. Unless they can make a Kindle smell like leather and paper, I’ll stick to the real thing thank you very much.

That’s not really where I expected to go with this post, but like a leisurely stroll through a forest in summer, I’m going where the mood takes me and enjoying the journey as much as the destination.

This 30-blogging challenge has been a revelation. I’m thinking the last post for July will be something of a summary of what I’ve learned. Or would that be too boring and obvious? I know for sure I will continue to write with dedication and I will not feel bad if I forget one day (or even two) and I hereby commit to posting to my toastmaster blog every day for 30 days. See, now I’m accountable! But this time I know it won’t be difficult because I have seen the benefits of doing it with this blog.

I achieved something amazing today. I actually managed to speak to the bank without getting stressed and spiralling into a downer. I discussed my financial situation with candour and things have been dealt with. I phoned up about Smart Talkers, the owner responded to my tweet about my blog post a few days ago. I am proud to have started the ball rolling on that one. I think in part this turn-around is due to the discipline of posting every day and the reading I’m doing of other people’s blogs. I’m realising that it’s all do-able, very little of it is easy and I’m almost at the point where I can dare to plan the impossible. I’m not quite there yet, but two out of three ain’t bad. I’m told doing the impossible is intensely rewarding. 🙂

And if you want to see the inspiration for this post, here ’tis.

This entry was posted in achievement, mumpreneur. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

