Last Day, First Day

Today is the last day of my job. I still get paid until the end of August, but the goodbyes have been said and the promises to stay in touch made. I’ve really loved the time I spent at school. It was difficult and stressful, but there were lots of laughs and crazy things, as happens when you work with a bunch of teenagers. There are some characters I’m glad to see the back of, some I worry about, but most will be just fine. I hope they will think well of me, I hope they think I was a bit mad but I made them feel good. I forgot to set and mark homework, but I loved talking to them about life (when I was sure they were on task first, of courses).

I’m sad that I didn’t fulfil all the goals I had when I first started at the school, but as I finish I find I have discovered a new passion for teaching that has taken me in a different direction. I’m more keen now to start the speech, language and communication skills classes with SmartTalkers, and possibly TinyTalk as well. I see tutoring and supply work as an opportunity for me to save money towards setting up one or both of these opportunities. I still want to keep the toastmastering thing going, that is a huge amount of fun, but I’m starting to think my heart lies with the littlies. I suspect this next year is going to bring quite a bit of change, hopefully the difficulties I’ve experienced over the past year will give me strength and confidence to move through those changes to something bright and exciting!

This entry was posted in mumpreneur, thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Last Day, First Day

  1. Libby Hill says:

    We’d love to have you and your skills!!

  2. Vanessa King says:

    Great, I’ll be in touch 🙂

Leave a Reply

