Getting better all the time

Well, I’ve been on anti-depressants for about 3 weeks now and I think the effects are starting to take hold. That’s a good thing, by thing way. I still get episodes of being *way* down, like when I posted last week, but they seem to be fewer than they used to be. I’m still not feeling at all confident but I seem to be over the paralysis that had taken hold of me over the last few months. People comment that I’m looking brighter, or at least less tired. Soon I will be handing over the VPE role at Guildford Speakers Club, which is a great relief. I did love doing the job, most of the time, but I found it very frustrating that people didn’t seem able to respond to emails and I found myself getting unreasonably upset about it all. I’m looking forward to being President and being able to relax a tiny bit. I should have a vision for the club, I suppose, but I really like it just the way it is. At Toastmasters I have seen the best and worst of people and I’m grateful for all of it, because I’ve learned such a lot this year. I would like to put more emphasis on the leadership aspect of the programme and maybe do a youth programme in a school. Since I’m not going to be teaching in August it seems like a good way to keep my hand in education.

Speaking of education, I’ve registered to be a tutor and have been surprised at the number of searches for Japanese tutors. Sadly they’re in far-off places like Bath and somewhere in Wales starting with Ll… I’ve had a couple of searches from Slough postcodes but no enquiries, I wonder if my fee is too high. £25 for A-level is pretty much the going rate though. I’ve also contacted a homework help site which, at the moment, has about 200 videos of GSCE maths lessons to help kids with their revision. I contacted them because I’m interested in presenting a biology course. It turns out they’re looking at expanding their site to include sciences, so I’m hoping they’ll be interested enough in me to at least meet with me. Anyway, no harm in trying.

Also, I’ve had enquiries from two members of public speaking clubs who would like some help with speeches and aspects of MC-ing (is that even a word? Who cares, it’s my blog and no-one’s reading it anyway *lol*) and I’m thinking I should add these areas to my Lady Toastmaster blog as additional revenue streams. I’m not making any money at the moment, but I definitely won’t if I don’t try. And that’s where the medicine has really helped. A few months ago I would have bothered to look, I would have thought there’s no way they’d want me. Now, I still think the chances are slim, but nothing ventured nothing gained, as they say.

Tomorrow I’m going into Guildford for a face-to-face radio interview with Sarah Gorrell on BBC Surrey drive-time. I’ve been in the studio before so it should be lots of fun. Anyway, I’m now distracted trying to figure out how to put a Tweet and Facebook Like button on my blog. ‘Till next time!

This entry was posted in thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

